Finally Fall

I thought this summer would never end! I didn’t blog at all because, honestly, I was following that old rule “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.” Worst. Summer. Ever. Anything that could go wrong (and a few things that couldn’t) did. Big things. Small things. Totally random things.

But hey, it’s over. It’s fall. Even better, it’s October. The best 31 days of the year, as far as I’m concerned.

I know for most people, springtime represents renewal and new beginnings. For me, it’s fall. By the end of summer, I’m feeling old (much older than 30!), cranky, and perpetually tired. But that first crisp, chilly morning hits (the one where I have to go dig out a pair of socks after 5 months of bare feet), and I’m a new person.

Sweaters. Crunchy leaves. Boots. Fresh cider (in all its forms). The sound of crows. S’mores. Trips to the orchard. Homemade soup. Candles. Heirloom pumpkins. And also Reese’s Pumpkins. So many of my favorite things are unique to the colder months of the year.

(On a side note, my sister and I were just talking a few days ago about the pull we feel towards New England, especially this time of year. We love the South, but we’re both first-generation Southern girls. Our father’s family came to Maine, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island in the early 1600s and stayed there. Dad grew up in Springfield, MA, and we made family trips all over New England throughout our childhood. The place is literally in our blood, and every fall, I swear it starts calling to us. One of these years, we’re going to answer. In the meantime, we’ll keep feeding our obsession through Pinterest.)

We’ve made two trips to Skytop Orchard already this fall. Both times, The Boy has visited the animals, munched on fresh apples, and worn himself out running. And both times, as usual, I’ve come away wishing we could park a little cabin on top of the highest hill in the orchard and live, surrounded by mountains and apple trees.

This entry was posted in Family, Food, Home, Memories. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finally Fall

  1. Jessica says:

    I am 100% with you on fall – BEST TIME EVER. This our first full fall in Colorado…and so far? Perfection.

Leave a Reply

